Local Softballers Reap All-District Awards

all district softballers 640px

The softball coaches of District 22-2A have announced their selections for this season's All-District teams.

Three of the six Superlatives awarded went to players on Houston County teams.
Latexo sophomore pitcher Gracie Zalesky was named Queen of the Circle after helping to lead the Lady Tigers to their first playoff appearance in school history.

Lovelady junior Sydney Price was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year for the second straight season and Kennard freshman Dariann Ping was recognized as Utility Player of the Year.

Slocum claimed two Superlatives with senior Kaytie Jones claiming MVP honors and freshman Jalyn Fletcher as Newcomer of the Year.

Co-Offensive Players are Centerville junior McKinzie Hamilton and Neches sophomore Josey Sumpter.

The coaches also selected First and Second Teams, Honorable Mention, and First and Second Team Academic All-District.

2016 District 22-2A
Softball Awards

MVP- Kaytie Jones, senior, Slocum.
Queen of the Circle- Gracie Zalesky, sophomore, Latexo.
Co-Offensive Player- McKinzie Hamilton, junior, Centerville; Josey Sumpter, sophomore, Neches.
Defensive Player- Sydney Price, junior, Lovelady.
Utility- Dariann Ping, freshman, Kennard.
Newcomer of the Year- Jalyn Fletcher, freshman, Slocum.

First Team All-District
Pitcher- Katie Greve, senior, Neches.
Catcher- Briley Evers, sophomore, Slocum.
First Base- Kamryn Vickers, senior, Slocum.
Second Base- Hannah Chipman, freshman, Grapeland.
Short Stop- Makayla Bickerstaff, junior, Slocum.
Third Base- Jessi Ives, sophomore, Slocum.
Outfield- Makenzie Hudson, freshman, Neches; Cheyenne Mixon, senior, Grapeland; Taylor Clark, freshman, Slocum; Chaice Short, senior, Latexo.

Second Team
Pitcher- Tori Tollett, junior, Centerville.
Catcher- Makayla Gunnels, sophomore, Latexo.
First Base- Ashlyn Brazzil, senior, Latexo.
Second Base- Courtney January, freshman, Slocum.
Co-Short Stop- Taylar Mullen, junior, Grapeland; Cristina Ortega, sophomore, Centerville.
Third Base- Jayci Mannix, sophomore, Neches.
Outfield- Gracey Carroll, sophomore, Neches; Diamond Maines-Dunn, freshman, Grapeland; Autumn Lumpkin, senior, Centerville; Tea Soberano, junior, Lovelady; Kara Cumby, sophomore, Slocum; Hannah Cariker, junior, Neches.

Honorable Mention
Centerville- Baylee Chase, senior, Sarah King, junior; Sara Stutzman, sophomore,
Grapeland- Arielle Lane, senior; Madison Holbrook, junior; Hailee Sheridan, junior; Megan Holbrook, sophomore; Haylee Reed, freshman.
Latexo- Brooke Ashley, senior; Kelsey Kilian, senior.
Lovelady- Hannah Sample, senior; Allison Hay, junior; Sydney Shoemaker, junior; MaLanta Wiley, junior.
Neches- Allyson Thompson, senior; Hana Walsh, junior; Sheridan Andrews, sophomore; Ashley Barnes, freshman.
Slocum- Katelynn Hogan, senior; Christy Dunnam, junior; Shelby Bowman, sophomore; Laney Lasiter, freshman.

1st Team
Academic All-District
Centerville- Autumn Lumpkin, senior; Callie Parker, sophomore; Sara Stutzman, sophomore; Kirsten Jeitz, freshman; Harley Matthews, freshman.
Grapeland- Arielle Lane, senior; Taylar Mullen, junior; Hailee Sheridan, junior; Jakara Jackson, junior; Stevie Reynolds, junior; Carly Parker, freshman.
Latexo- Brooke Ashley, senior; Ashlyn Brazzil, senior; Kelsey Kilian, senior; Chaice Short, senior; Carolyn Townsend, junior; Makayla Gunnels, sophomore; Angeleah Benton, freshman; Bailey Ingle, freshman.
Lovelady- Hannah Sample, senior; Allison Hay, junior; Emily McClure, junior; Sydney Price, junior; Tea Soberano, junior; Heather Elliott, sophomore; Katie Robertson, sophomore; Sarah Thompson, freshman.
Slocum- Katelynn Hogan, senior; Kaytie Jones, senior; Kamryn Vickers, senior; Briley Evers, sophomore.

Second Team
Academic All-District
Centerville- Baylee Chase, senior.; McKinzie Hamilton, junior; Sarah King, junior; MacKinzie Mordecai, freshman.
Lovelady- MaLanta Wiley, junior; Jamie Mora, sophomore.