Coaches Announce 20-2A Boys Hoops All-District Awards

Sandies, Lions, Tigers Claim Superlatives

Houston County was well represented on the District 20-2A Boys All-District Basketball Team released this week.

Three of the four Superlatives awarded by the district's coaches went to players from Grapeland, Lovelady and Latexo.

Grapeland senior Jaques Faulk was voted MVP, Lovelady junior Hunter Murray was the Offensive MVP, and Latexo freshman Evan Ivy was Co-Newcomer of the Year.

Grapeland dominated the First Team selections with five Sandies landing spots. Senior Jason Walker was joined on the first team by four juniors-- Tink McQuirter, Riley Chipman, Parker Wilson and Rodney Davis.

Lovelady senior Courtell McQuirter and Latexo junior Keshawn Smotherman were also First Team honorees.

Second Team selections included Lovelady senior Mason Lowery and Latexo freshman Sonny Townsend.

Lions Kade White and Petey Little received Honorable Mention along with Tigers David Taylor and Jack Woodford.

District 20-2A
2015-16 All District Team
MVP: Jaques Faulk, senior, Grapeland
Offensive MVP: Hunter Murray, junior, Lovelady
Defensive MVP: Keet Cockerham, junior, Slocum
Newcomer of the Year: Hunter Free, sophomore, Centerville; Evan Ivy, freshman, Latexo
First Team
Alex Fletcher, junior, Centerville; Tink McQuirter, junior, Grapeland; Riley Chipman, junior, Grapeland; Parker Wilson, junior, Grapeland; Rodney Davis, junior, Grapeland; Jason Walker, senior, Grapeland; Keshawn Smotherman, junior, Latexo; Courtell McQuirter, senior, Lovelady; Jace Rains-Love, senior, Slocum; Taylor Hunt, sophomore, Slocum.
Second Team
Wyatt Stutzman, senior, Centerville; Trevor Stutzman, senior, Centerville; Dawson Chumley, junior, Groveton; Sonny Townsend, freshman, Latexo; Mason Lowery, senior, Lovelady; Alex Maldonado, senior, Slocum; Jacob Lane, sophomore, Slocum.
Honorable Mention
Lovelady- Kade White, Petey Little
Latexo- David Taylor, Jack Woodford