Lovelady Gridmen Reap Post-Season Awards


The Lovelady Lions loaded up with 24 All-District awards, including four Superlatives, when District 12-2A football coaches made their selections for the 2015 season.

All three of the Lovelady players tabbed for Superlative Awards were unanimous choices.

Senior Emanual Williams was tabbed District MVP, senior Taylor Connell was Defensive MVP, and junior kicker Devon Hammock was Special Teams MVP.

Coach Kerry Therwhanger, who guided the Lions to an undefeated district championship and perfect regular season, was honored by his peers as Coach of the Year.

Centerville and Groveton claimed the remaining Superlatives but none were unanimous choices.

Groveton's Glenn Thornton and Centerville's Trevor Goolsby were voted Co-Offensive MVP.

The coaches selected Centerville's Abraham Sanchez as Newcomer of the Year.

Centerville's Hunter Free and Groveton's Eli Stewart were named Co-Newcomer of the Year.

In addition to the four Superlatives, the Lions landed eight positions on the First Team and eight on the Second Team. Four Lions received Honorable Mention.

Lovelady's high-powered offense, which averaged 52.6 points per game in district, claimed three slots on the First Team Offense and five on the Second Team Offense.

First Team honorees were Mason Lowery, offensive line; Lee Holsey, quarterback; and Courtell McQuirter, wide receiver.
Second Team Offense recipients were Da'Mario Mattingly, offensive line; Rodelio Torres, offensove line; Mason Phillips, offensive line; Petey Little, wide receiver; and Jacob Jeffus, wide receiver.

Honorable Mention Offense went to Blake Johnson and Hunter Murray.

The Lion defense, which allowed just 11.2 points per game in district, was well represented with five players selected for the First Team, three on the Second Team, and two Honorable Mentions.

First Team Defensive honorees were Petey Little. defensive end; Dustin Ham, defensive line; Brandan Pollock, inside linebacker; Hunter Murray, outside linebacker; and Jacob Jeffus, outside linebacker.

Second Team Defense selections for the Lions were Kade White, defensive back; Courtell McQuirter, defensive back; and Daniel Cook, defensive end.

Honorable Mention Defense went to Ethan Campbell and Brett Huester.